Friends are one of life’s greatest blessings and one of my keys to success in nursing. Nursing is a major where you are challenged each and every day and where your mistakes have the potential to be life-threatening. With that said, it’s no wonder that every nursing student needs a solid network of people who understand what they’re going through, who believe in them, and who can give them a pep talk when they need it most.

Fortunately for me, I have the pleasure of being a member of SNAP (the Student Nurses’ Association of Pennsylvania), a branch of the NSNA (the National Student Nurses’ Association). Through this organization, I was afforded the opportunity to represent my school at the L.E.A.D. Conference this past year. While I was there, I met many amazing people who are going through the same challenges I am, from tests to time management, to the pressures of the clinical floor. So while I could have survived my second semester of nursing school without ever having met these women, I would certainly not have had the inspiration to persevere when things got tough. I would not have had a hundred positive snaps sent to me during finals week, I would not have a had an un-biased sounding board for my many nursing-related complaints, and I would not have gotten to see so much success and promise during that semester.

These young women are intelligent, benevolent, loving, kind, and beautiful. They are committed, driven, powerful, and inspirational. They are exactly the kind of nurse you would want to care for a dying family member or for yourself if you were in dire straits. They are my inspirations and they are a blessing to have in my life. There is not a doubt in my mind that they will be friends of mine for life and I am so blessed to know them.

Leave a Reply

