When you get into nursing, one of the first things you’re told is that nobody can do this job alone. Even in nursing school, you’ll find that without the support of your classmates the journey is long and often too difficult to handle. For better or worse, you become like a family – and sometimes, you forget to tell that family just how much they mean to you.

Last semester I had my first clinical experience. Without the other six students I spent each and every week with, I would never have made it this far. At first, I have to admit I was pretty intimidated by my group: they were smart, capable, talented individuals and I wasn’t sure that I really stacked up when placed next to them. I didn’t think they liked me (three of them struck me as the “popular kids” while the other three just seemed like they were so much more sure of themselves) and I was convinced that I would look like a bumbling idiot in front of them. But as time went on, I realized that these were the people who pushed me to do my best every week and they truly made clinical a fun experience.

Each week, three of us would carpool and from singing Closer in the car to venting about the struggles of school and the immaturity of some college kids to celebrating each other’s successes, I found two incredible friends who I’m convinced will make incredible nurses. When dinner breaks came around, we’d sit at a table together and talk about what was going on during our clinical. Some weeks we’d laugh (although not at my jokes because apparently “I’m not funny”), some weeks we’d stress out, and some weeks we’d just sit there on our phones – content to just be together as a group. It was this camaraderie that motivated me to be a successful student nurse. I was driven to always be on top of my game, so that when a classmate needed help with their patient I could provide care and support to them at all times.

And while it wasn’t all sunshine and roses, I wouldn’t change it for a moment.

Anders, it’s been a pleasure being in class with you. Even though you used to harass me incessantly, I can confidently say that you have pushed me and have helped me to thrive in this program. I know that you’re going to do incredible things in the future and I can’t wait to see where you end up.

Aileen, you’re incredibly funny (although obviously I’m funnier XD) and intelligent. I’m so blessed to know you and I look forward to continuing to get to know each other and to continue to have carpool karaoke sessions in the coming years.

Alex, you are so capable (even though you don’t always see it yourself). You are one of the most genuine people I’ve ever met and your heart is made of pure gold. Your patients are lucky to have you.

Mary, you’re probably the only person who actually appreciated my jokes (jk guys, I know you all loved them and told them to your friends on weekends). Your spirit is absolutely incredible and I can tell you’re committed to nursing, despite its challenges.

Emily, your spunk is contagious and I love how unabashedly yourself you are. At first, I was concerned you didn’t like me but I’m so thankful that we had clinical together. I can’t wait to watch you continue to succeed and thrive in this profession.

Nicole, you are an absolute gem of a person. The way you carry yourself on the floor is incredible and I am so thankful to have met you.

So while this has only been the beginning of my journey, it’s off to one hell of a start, thanks to both these individuals and my professors and friends. If I’m blessed with a group as wonderfully diverse and supportive as this one every semester, nursing school is going to be absolutely A1.

 

Leave a Reply

